Chakras and Mental Health: How Our Energetic Centers Affect Our Mind.

When the body’s energy  experiences physiological and psychological changes due to our stressful everyday life that can cause diseases and imbalances. Our life made up of problems, crazy deadlines and traumas can generate blockages in the energy flow bringing some serious psychological symptoms such as anxiety, panic and concern. Balancing your chakras can be the perfect way to help you restore the energy flow in your body reducing anxiety level and living a happier and healthier life.

What are Chakras? A little bit of the history behind them

Let’s begin with the translation of the Sanskrit word Chakras, which means "wheel” . These chakras are considered as the energetic centers of our body. Chakras are centers where major nerve points meet and where life force, or "prana," is supposed to flow in an harmonic way. Hindu and Buddhist traditions believe that when the flow of energy is blocked, it affects our body, our emotional state and our mind.

The concept of a universal life energy flowing through our bodies has ancient roots dating back to 5,000 B.C. in India ( with the word prana) and 3,000 B.C. in China (with the word ch'i). These are some of the names used to describe the life force, the vital energy.  But how many chakras lies in our bodies? Actually there are seven main chakras all connecting  to our nervous points. Each chakra is represented by a specific color from the seven rays of the spectrum light, or rainbow with the color light considered as an electromagnetic wave affecting our body and soul at 360 degrees.


  1. Root Chakra

Root Chakra is our very first chakra. We can find it in the tail bone and it is represented by the color red. It is connected to the base of the spine and it is so important to us. The Root chakra regulates the sense of safety, survival, and instinct. When this chakra is out of balance we feel absolutely hopeless, ungrounded, anxious and lonely into everything we do. In order to balance this chakra and unlock the energetic flow again we have to energize every area adding some red. How? For example, we could add red flowers into our daily life and environment both at work or at home, we could wear a garnet stone or eat some red berries.

  1. Sacral Chakra

The Sacral chakra is our second chakra and it located in the pelvis and associated with the color orange. It is connected to the adrenal glands and the genitourinary system. This chakra regulates the basic emotional and sexual needs as well as creativity and confidence. With our sacral chakra out of balance we feel emotionally imbalanced, lonely, and might struggle with addictions and dependence. To balance this chakra, some color orange can bring special relief : we could wear a carnelian stone, add more orange food to our nutrition, or wear orange clothing to help us rebalance it in a proper way.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra is called the Solar Plexus chakra and It paced under the ribs. This chakra is associated with the color yellow and It is linked to the digestive system. This chakra regulates our fears, sense of power, and gut feelings. When this chakra is out of balance we feel anxious, scared and we could even experience some eating disorders. If we want to balance this chakra again, we need to energize our space with the color yellow, for example adding yellow flowers, wearing a yellow citrine crystal, or adding lemon to our water (a special precious detoxifying mix regenerating both our body, our metabolism and our mind too!).

  1. Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is the Heart chakra and we can find it in the center of the chest and it is related to color green and, at a physical level to our heart, our thymus and all the endocrine system. This chakra relates to love, compassion, connection, and sense of safety. When this chakra is out of balance we feel deeply confused, helpless, and abandoned. To let the energy flow again and balance this chakra, we could energize our space with green elements such as plants, a green item for our outfit such as bracelets, necklace or even a dress , and more fresh organic leafy-green vegetables for our nutrition.

  1. Throat Chakra

Throat chakra is our fifth chakra  and we can find it in the throat area. It is linked to the color blue and it is connected to the thyroid gland and adjust our sense of safety, power, self-expression and verbal communication. When this chakra is out of balance, we feel anxious, low, even depressed, stuck and insecure as it is difficult to express ourselves in a proper way. The perfect thing to do to balance this chakra is connecting with the ocean, wearing a Lapis Lazuli stone or eating fresh blueberries.

  1. Third-Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is the Third-Eye chakra, placed between our eye-brows and associated with the color indigo. It is connected to the pineal gland and regulates our spiritual guidance, intimate thoughts and dreams. When this chakra is out of balance, we may feel lost, unable to access to our hunch, and have suffering insomnia too. To balance this chakra, we have to wear an azurite stone, use lavender essential oils (even making a nice massage using it on our third-eye) or use any to indigo items.

  1. Crown Chakra

The seventh chakra is the Crown chakra, located at the crown of your head and associated with the color violet. It is connected to pituitary gland and our central nervous system. It is associated with our awareness, wisdom, imagination and spirituality. When this chakra is out of balance, we feel depressed, hopeless, confused, and deeply out of perspective. To rebalance this chakra, we have to wear amethyst, eat some figs and adorn our spaces with calming violet items.

Find imbalances and regularize energetic centers

Once we recognize our symptoms and we find our imbalances we can finally start working on our energetic centers to find our healthier path to a happier and more balanced life, using the little useful tips we enlisted before. Remember that we could start focusing on one chakra at the time, beginning with some of the most troubled and then slowly reaching out to the rest of them. This wider action will be perfect for a total energetic body experience acting on all the vital components of our energy flow system.